Match Reports‎ > ‎

U-16 Quarter Final vs Muine Bheag

posted 3 Aug 2011, 10:27 by

McDonalds Carlow U16 Football Quarter Final

 by Eamonn Byrne

                             Tinryland   5 17                               Muinebheag   1 5

Tinryland U16 footballers eased into a semi final date with Rathvilly when they defeated Muinebheag in a one sided quarter final game at Rathcrogue on Tuesday last 2nd August. After Michael Calvey had opened the Tinryland account with a point after only 30 seconds it was one way traffic until the end with the home side dominant throughout the field.

Andrew Hanley and Ciaran Townsend both had the ball in the Muinebheag net during the opening ten minutes and by half time Tinryland led by 2 9 to 0 0 with seven different players involved in the scoring.

When the second half began Muinebheag did show more urgency and wing forward Rory Doyle opened their account with a point in the 32nd minute quickly followed by another from the hard working Jack Barron. The issue was put firmly beyond doubt 2 minutes later however when Ciaran Townsend scored his second goal for Tinryland and with star athlete Marcus Lawler coming on as a sub Tinryland pulled further clear with goals from Lawler and another sub Mark Lawlor. To their credit Muinebheag never stopped trying and they were rewarded in the 52nd minute when Jack Barron found the Tinryland net and wing forward Conor Murphy slotted over two quick points with sub Andrew Casey also raising a white flag..

Tinryland had outstanding players in defenders Fiach Byrne, Stephen O’Hanlon and Conor O’Toole together with midfielders Owen O’Gorman and Kuba Debosh and forwards Diarmuid Walshe, Barry Power, Michael Calvey, Ciaran Townsend and Brian Hosey.

Muinebheag’s most prominent players were Mark Kennedy, Thomas Maher, Aidan Power, Jason Shinnors, Rory Doyle Conor Murphy and Jack Barron.

Tinryland: Adam Murphy, Fiach Byrne, Stephen O’Hanlon, Conor O’Toole, Eoin Fields, Shane Webb, Luke Corcoran, Owen O’Gorman, Kuba Debosh, Diarmuid Walshe, Barry Power, Michael Calvey, Adrian Hanley, Ciaran Townsend, Brian Hosey. Subs used: Marcus Lawler, Conall O’Se, Mark Lawlor, Lee Mannion, Adam Nolan.

Muinebheag: Nathan Byrne, Mark kennedy, Liam Cummins, Daniel Power, Thomas Maher, Jamie Whelan, Andrew Casey, Aidan Power, Jason Shinnors, Rory Doyle, Sean Lillis, Conor Murphy, Evan Condron, Martin Mullins, Jack Barron. Subs used: Jamie Clarke, Andrew Casey, Gavin Phelan, Darren Crooks.