Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Win Opening SFC Match

posted 3 Aug 2014, 06:10 by
By Eamonn Byrne

On the wettest day of 2014 Tinryland seniors impressively cleared the first hurdle in this years Michael Lyng Motors Carlow S.F.C. when they easily defeated Kilbride at Dr Cullen Park on Saturday 2nd August.Kilbride scored first in the 4th minute when wing back Mitch Kelly raised a white flag but amazingly never scored again in the remaining 56 minutes as the Tinryland defence dominated and strangled their attack on every occassion they threatened. Tinryland's opening score came in the 12th minute when the returning Keith Jackson pointed following good work by Shane Redmond and Cathal O'Toole. Tinryland had numerous chances at this stage of the game but the wide tally kept rising and matters were still all square at the end of 20 minutes. In the 21st minute Tinryland finally took the lead with a Diarmaid Walshe Walshe pointl following a 5 man passing movement involving Conor Byrne, Cian Moore, Jeff Sutton,and Paul Broderick. 3 minutes later Tinryland began to turn the screw and Cormac Walshe rattled the Kilbride net following good interplay between himself, Richard White, and Paul Broderick. Tinryland were now attacking in droves and after Glen Doyle had missed a free for a foul on Richard White, Paul Broderick brought the first half scoring to a close when he converted a free won by Cathal O'Toole.Half time score Tinryland 1 3 Kilbride 0 1. The second half was less than 60 seconds old when Tinryland had the ball in the Kilbride net once again. This time Paul Broderick was the scorer following a sublime pass from Richard White following good build up play from Jeff Sutton and Shane Redmond. Tinryland were then dealt a blow when Glen Doyle received a black card and he was replaced by Padraig Townsend. The lead was then extended out to 9 points when Richie White who was having a stormer slotted over a point and further points from Diarmaid Walshe and Padraig Townsend following more good play from White and Broderick left us 11 points clear with 15 minutes remaining.The Tinryland bench was then emptied with Ian Scully, John Dwyer and John Paul Moore all entering the fray. Richie White missed a gilt edged chance of a goal while at the other end Trevor O'Reilly was forced to make a Gordon Banks like save on the one occassion that Kilbride got in behind the rock solid Tinryland defence. With the game fizzling out to its inevitable conclusion Cormac Walshe capped a fine display with his second goal after a pass from Paul Broderick and 2 further points from Tinryland's ace marksman Paul added to Kilbride's misery as Evan Doyle and Shane O'Neill were introduced for the hard working pair Richie White and Diarmaid Walshe.With 5 minutes remaining Kilbride lost their midfielder Darragh Foley to a second yellow and shortly afterwards completely out of the blue a melee involving a lot of players developed. After a considerable time the referee managed to control matters and the inevitable red cards were then flashed with 2 players from each side getting an early shower. The game ended with Matthew O'Toole slotting over Tinryland's final point to leave the scoreboard reading Tinryland 3-9  Kilbride 0-1. Tinryland's next outing in the S.F.C will be on Saturday next at DCP when Rathvilly will provide the opposition at 7.45 p.m.This was a very professional performance from the men in blue and white with goalkeeper Trevor O'Reilly getting great protection from his hard working defence of Danny Moran, Mark Dempsey,Conor Byrne, Jeff Sutton,Shane Redmond and Matthew OToole. At midfield Cormac Walshe and Cian Moore worked their socks off with Walshe contributing 2 goals from open play. In the forward line Diarmaid Walshe, Cathal O'Toole, Glen Doyle, Paul Broderick, Richie White and Keith Jackson all made significent contributions as did all the subs introduced namely Padraig Townsend,John Dwyer,Ian Scully, John Paul Moore,Shane O'Neill and Evan Doyle.

Tinryland: Trevor O'Reilly, Danny Moran,Mark Dempsey, Conor Byrne, Jeff Sutton, Shane Redmond, Matthew O'Toole 0-1, Cormac Walshe 2-0,Cian Moore, Diarmaid Walshe 0-2, Glen Doyle, Cathal O'Toole, Paul Broderick 1-3, Richie White 0-1, Keith Jackson 0-1.Subs: 

,Padraig Townsend 0-1, John Dwyer, Ian Scully, John Paul Moore, Shane O'Neill, Evan Doyle
Sent from Samsung Mobile