Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Thirds still waiting for first league win in Division 4

posted 20 Apr 2018, 04:40 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Eire Og 3rd team proved too strong for Tinryland in division 4 at Pairc Ui Bhrian on Wednesday 18th April. With a strong wind in their favour the home side attacked from the throw in scoring 1-8 without reply before Gregg Murphy opened the Tinryland account with a point on the stroke of half time. The Eire Og goal came as early as the 5th minute from full forward Rory Byrne who added a further 2 points to his personal tally in that first half. Other point scorers for the Eire Og men in the opening half were James Ryan (2), Andy Byrne (2), Kevin Haughney, and Leigh Callinan. Half Time score Eire Og 1-8 Tinryland 0-1.

When play resumed a Tinryland revival that was anticipated never materialised and Eire Og stretched into a 2-13 to 0-1 lead by the 45th minute with their second goal coming from the penalty spot courtesy of centre forward Mark Corcoran. In the 48th minute Eire Og veteran James Ryan rattled the Tinryland net shortly after home goalkeeper Brian Stenson had brought off the save of the match from a Dean Farrell piledriver. Tinryland did stage a mini revival with 2 goals in the space of a minute with 10 minutes remaining from Gregg Murphy and Gary Scully but it was all too little too late and Eire Og cruised to the finish with a further goal and 2 points. Outstanding for the winners were Brian Stenson, Kyle O’Byrne, Paddy O’Brien, Conor Walsh, Mark Corcoran, Kevin Haughney and Rory Byrne. Tinryland had hard triers in Joey Ryan, Colm Kearney, Jack Lowry, James Murphy, Gregg Murphy, Gary Scully and Tommy Dunne. Final score Eire Og 4-14 Tinryland 2-2

Tinryland are back in division 4 action on Wednesday next 25th April at 7.30 p.m. at home to Kildavin-Clonegal.

Tinryland: Lee Buggle, Joey Ryan, Padraig Delaney, Jack Lowry, Colm Kearney, Tommy Dunne, Gary Scully 1-0, Alan Kirwan, Adam Mullen, Joe Byrne, James Murphy, Dinny Farrell, Mark Johnson, Gregg Murphy 1-1, Dean Farrell. Subs: Adam Buggle, Darragh Townsend, John Whyte.