Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland still unbeaten in S.F.L. Division 1 after hard fought win in Borris

posted 24 Apr 2017, 11:25 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland kept their unbeaten record in the S.F.L. division 1 when they overcame a determined home side in Borris on Sunday evening. In a competitive first half goals from Cormac Walshe in the 16th minute and Niall Lowry (28th minute) edged the hoops closer to the knockout stages. Mount Leinster Rangers kept in touch in the opening half with 3 points from frees and another from play via full forward Derek Byrne who had his shooting boots on throughout this lively encounter. Half time score Tinryland 2-5 Mount Leinster Rangers 0-6

Tinryland pulled 7 points clear in the early stages of the 2nd half with a brace of points from Matthew O’Toole and Diarmaid Walshe but the home side responded in a big way with 2 further successful conversions from Derek Byrne and a cracking goal from Ted Joyce.

With Co. player Gary Kelly and David Phelan gaining good possession at midfield for ‘Rangers Tinryland were forced to up the ante and they introduced Co. players Danny Moran and Paul Broderick into the fray for the final quarter. 

Broderick scored one wonderful point during his spell in action and contributed well in general play but Rangers would not lie down and responded with further points via John Nolan and John Coady.  Garry Kelly’s 53rd minute point left only 2 points separating the sides but the Tinryland defence held out in the closing stages with Broderick’s final score in the 55th minute maintaining his side’s unbeaten record having accounted for Palatine, Rathvilly and St. Andrew’s in earlier rounds.

Tinryland will be back in action this coming weekend with a home fixture against O’Hanrahans

Full Time score Tinryland 2-11 Mount Leinster Rangers 1-11

Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, Adam Dunne, John Paul Moore, Cian Lawlor, Rory Doyle, Conor Byrne, Conor McGrath, Keith Jackson, Peter Hennessy, Matthew O’Toole 0-2, Padraig Townsend 0-1, Shane Webb, Niall Lowry 1-0, Diarmaid Walshe 0-4 1f, Cormac Walshe 1-2. Subs: Paul Broderick 0-1, Danny Moran, Ciaran Larkin.

Mount Leinster Rangers: Thomas Brennan, Niall Lynam, Padraig Bambrick, Tony Lawlor, Brian Nolan,

Willie Hickey 0-2, John Coady 0-1, Gary Kelly 0-1, David Phelan, Gary Lawlor, Ted Joyce 1-0,

 John Nolan 0-1, Luke Roche, Derek Byrne 0-6 4f, Dean Grennan. Sub: Darragh O’Toole