Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland seniors share the points with Kilbride in Carlow S.F.L. Division 1

posted 24 Apr 2014, 02:21 by

by Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland senior footballers had to settle for a share of the points in this S.F.L. round 2 game played in Kilbride on Wednesday 23rd April. A draw was probably a fair result to a match that saw both sides dominate at various stages. Tinryland took the lead within the opening minute when Shane O’Neill won a free which was converted by ace sharpshooter Paul Broderick. Over the following 15 minute period however it was the home side that dominated scoring 5 unanswered points from centre forward Seamus Gray (2) midfielder Darragh Foley (2) and lively corner forward David Moran who was proving a thorn to the Tinryland defence. In the 15th minute Tinryland finally put together a productive spell and after good play involving Matthew O’Toole, Cian Lawlor, and Cathal O’Toole the ball was transferred to Diarmaid Walshe who duly slotted over our 2nd point. More good play one minute later from Shane O’Neill, Owan O’Gorman and Jack Lowry resulted in Paul Broderick reducing the margin further and when Cathal O’Toole won a free in the 17th minute Paul reduced the gap to the minimum. Tinryland looked to be getting to grips with Kilbride at this stage and the sides were level in the 18th minute when Matthew O’Toole won a free which Paul Broderick converted once again. Twenty one minutes had elapsed when Kilbride pressure resulted in the only goal of the match scored by David Moran who angled a soccer like shot past Trevor O’Reilly despite strong pressure from the Tinryland defence. The home side stretched their advantage back out to 4 points when Seamus Gray successfully converted a free before Paul Broderick did likewise at the Bunclody road end after good play involving Diarmaid Walshe and Cian Moore. Tinryland were back on track now and when Robbie Power won another free in the 26th minute Broderick maintained his 100% record with dead balls. The final act of the half was completed with a spectacular point by Carlow’s ace forward when he reduced the margin to the minimum following good approach play by Owan O’Gorman. Half time score Kilbride 1-6 Tinryland 0-8.

Tinryland introduced Danny Moran into the fray at the interval for Cormac Walshe who was hampered with a groin injury for much of the first half.The second half was only one minute old when Tinryland were back on level terms via a Richard White point following good play from Matthew O’Toole. Jim Fitzpatrick for Kilbride and Diarmaid Walshe for Tinryland then traded points with the latter point the product of good play involving Cian Moore and Shane O’Neill. Tinryland finally took the lead in the 41st minute when Paul Broderick scored another special after superb play from Cathal O’Toole. At the other end Trevor O’Reilly was forced to make a great save but the ball fell to Kilbride corner forward Brendan Butler who levelled matters once again. By the 43rd minute the home side were back in front when Darragh Foley slotted over a point. Tinryland began to shuffle the pack then with Jeff Sutton entering the action for Shane O’Neill and Ciaran Townsend making his seasonal debut in place of Robbie Power. Townsend did not take long to get in on the scoring action slotting over the equaliser following a passing movement involving Richard White, Owan O’Gorman and Matthew O’Toole. Cathal O’Toole then fluffed a great chance to restore the Tinryland lead before we finally inched ahead once again with 4 minutes remaining when Owan O’Gorman pointed following good work from Matthew O’Toole. The final minutes saw Tinryland with a number of chances to consolidate the lead but the ball was given away on at least 2 occassions and when we spilled the ball in defence deep into stoppage time Darragh Foley made no mistake with the subsequent free kick to level matters for the final time. Final score Tinryland 0-13 Kilbride 1-10. The seniors are back in action on this coming Saturday 26th April with a tough home game against Co. champions Old Leighlin at 7 p.m. Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, Kuba Dobosz, Mark Dempsey, Jack Lowry, Matthew O’Toole, Owan O’Gorman 0-1, Cian Lawlor, Cian Moore, Cormac Walshe, Cathal O’Toole, Diarmaid Walshe 0-2, Shane O’Neill, Paul Broderick 0-8, Richard White 0-1, Robbie Power. Subs Danny Moran, Jeff Sutton, Ciaran Townsend 0-1, Paul Doyle.