Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Seniors Cruise to Victory Over Fighting Cocks

posted 6 May 2013, 05:18 by   [ updated 6 May 2013, 05:20 ]
Tinryland Seniors maintain winning streak with easy victory over Fighting Cocks

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland senior footballers consolidated their position near the top of the S.F.L. division 1 league table with a very comfortable win over our guests The Fighting Cocks on Saturday 4th May which rounded off a great few days for the club on the weekend of our 125 year celebrations.

Newly promoted Fighting Cocks were first out of the blocks when former Co. U21 player Liam Sheppard pointed within 60 seconds of the throw in. By the 5th minute Tinryland had edged ahead following a Diarmaid Walshe point and a Jeff Sutton beauty after good work from Cian Lawlor and Conor Byrne. The Cocks were still competitive at this stage however and two quick points from sharpshooter Matty Dowling gave them the lead once again before Cathal O’Toole levelled matters for us in the 13th minute. With Conor Byrne and John Dwyer beginning to win the mid field battle Tinryland were back in front by the 14th minute when Ian Scully converted a free following a foul on Conor. Ian then showed his skill when he calmly palmed the ball to the Cocks net following a move involving Cathal O’Toole, Conor Byrne and Jeff Sutton. Good work from Garry Morrissey resulted in a great point from Michael Mullen in the 16th minute which was quickly followed by another from Cian Lawlor to leave us ahead by 1-7 to 0-3 after 20 minutes. The final 10 minutes of the opening half saw Ian Scully (2) Matthew O’Toole and Diarmaid Walshe consolidate Tinryland’s advantage with further points. Scully’s point in the 28th minute from an acute angle was a sublime moment of skill from a player who gets better with every game he plays in the blue and white jersey. Tinryland were flying now and two minutes before the break Jeff Sutton scored one of the goals of the season when he crashed the ball to the Fighting Cocks net following another pin point pass from Diarmaid Walshe. Good play from Cathal O’Toole made an opening for his brother Matthew to score another point before Cocks corner forward Robert Davies closed the first half scoring with a point in the 32nd minute.Half time score Tinryland 2-11 The Fighting Cocks 0-5.

The early stages of the second half saw a lull in the scoring from both sides and it was the 38th minute before Ian Scully broke the deadlock when he converted a free following a foul on Diarmaid Walsh. Michael Mullen then tagged on another point for us following more good work from Jeff Sutton and Diarmaid Walshe. A great Cocks move involving William Nolan, Robert Davies and Tevor Watchorn resulted in a point for the latter in the 40th minute and two quick Cocks points from Alan Quigley and Trevor Watchorn seemed to herald a mini revival for our neighbours. Tinryland then introduced fresh legs when Glen Doyle and Shane Webb were introduced but it was the Cocks who struck once again with a superb goal from Garry Nolan to leave the scoreboard reading 2-13 to 1-8 in our favour mid way through the second half. This goal however was the cue for Tinryland to up the ante and over the next ten minutes the team played a great brand of football to add on six unanswered points from Jeff Sutton, the excellent Michael Mullen, Glen Doyle(2),

And Jeff Sutton once again. The pace of the young players Mullen, O’Toole, Sutton, Walshe and Cian Lawlor was a major factor at this stage and despite further Cocks points from Garry Nolan and Robert Davies Tinryland had the final say when Diarmaid Walsh capped a great performance with a goal following good work by sub Barry Power Michael Mullen and Jeff Sutton. Shane Webb then pointed to leave the final scoreTinryland 3-20 The Fighting Cocks 1-10. Tinryland seniors will be back in action on Friday next 10th May away to Old Leighlin in Molaise Park in a repeat of the 2011 Co. final.

Tinryland: David Townsend, Niall Barrett, Mark Dempsey, Cian Lawlor 0-1, Danny Moran, Garry Morrissey, Shane O’Neill, Conor Byrne, John Dwyer, Michael Mullen 0-3, Jeff Sutton 1-3, Matthew O’Toole 0-2, Cathal O’Toole 0-1, ian Scully 1-4, Diarmaid Walshe 1-2. Subs Glen Doyle 0-3, Shane Webb 0-1, Barry Power, Eddie Dowling.