Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland minors win Carlow M.F.C. title with very easy victory over Naomh Eoin

posted 13 Nov 2016, 14:07 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland minors brought the curtain down on the 2016 season when they captured the Carlow M.F.C. (B) title defeating Naomh Eoin-Miseal in a one sided final at Netwatch Cullen Park on Saturday 12th November.The result of this game was never in doubt from the early stages as the boys in blue and white raced into an eight point lead by the 20th minute and in the process held Naomh Eoin scoreless during that period with excellent defending from the likes of Eamonn Murphy, Cuan Burke, Tommy Dunne and Rory Dunbar.

Opening points from the lively Ronan Curran (2), Dinny Farrell (2), Keelan Gaffney and a 12th minute Conor Brennan goal laid the foundations for this emphatic victory with the Tinryland forwards much sharper throughout than their Myshall counterparts. Naomh Eoin’s only score in this one sided affair came in the 21st minute when full forward Jamie Kavanagh deflected a Cathal Treacy free over the bar. Amazingly this was to be their last and only score for the team that lost the (A) hurling final 2 weeks previously. When referee Billy Fanning from Ballon sounded the half time whistle Tinryland who played against the strong breeze led by 1-6 to 0-1 with the remaining first half score being a point from full forward Michael Dobosz following good play by Rory Doyle, Eoin Hosey, Jonathon Curran and Conor Ryan.

When play resumed it was more of the same as Tinryland kept the scoreboard operator busy. Early 2nd half points from Keelan Gaffney, Conor Brennan, Dinny Farrell and Ronan Curran extended the lead to 12 points by the 35th minute.  With Gaffney and Conor Ryan lording it at midfield and Rory Doyle keeping Naomh Eoin’s danger man Cathal Treacy in check Tinryland tagged on 4 further points via Keelan Gaffney, Dinny Farrell (2) and Michael Dobosz before the first substitution was made with the introduction of Cormac Kelly for his hard working namesake Ferghal Kelly. With the game long over as a contest Tinryland emptied the bench by sending on Rory Moore, Shea Byrne, Alan Grogan and Luke Fleming lads who were not found wanting throughout the season when they were called upon. The closing stages saw further points from the excellent Conor Brennan (2) and Keelan Gaffney while the icing had already been applied to the cake with a brilliant individual Michael Dobosz goal in the 46th minute. This left the final score Tinryland 2-18 Naomh Eoin 0-1.

Shortly after the final whistle Tinryland captain Rory Doyle was presented with the winner’s trophy by Tinryland clubman and Co. board treasurer Cormac O’Toole as the curtain came down on the playing fields for another year. Outstanding for Tinryland in this game were goalkeeper Cian Nolan, Eamonn Murphy, Tommy Dunne, Rory Doyle, Rory Dunbar, Conor Ryan, Conor Brennan, Dinny Farrell and Ronan Curran.

Tinryland: Cian Nolan, Eamonn Murphy, Tommy Dunne, Ferghal Kelly, Cuan Burke, Rory Doyle, Rory Dunbar, Conor Ryan, Keelan Gaffney 0-4, Conor Brennan 1-4, Ronan Curran 0-3, Jonathon Curran, Dinny Farrell 0-5, Michael Dobosz 1-2, Eoin Hosey. Subs Cormac Kelly, Rory Moore, Shea Byrne, Alan Grogan, Luke Fleming.