Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland minors retain league title with hard fought win over Eire Og

posted 19 May 2015, 05:46 by

  By Eamonn Byrne       

Tinryland minor footballers captured the Carlow M.F.L. division 1 title for the 2nd successive year with a hard fought win against Eire Og at Netwatch Cullen park on Monday 18th May. The boys in blue and white hoops won this match by scoring goals at vital times after Eire Og had raced into a 3 point lead in the opening quarter. The town team opened the scoring in the 1st minute when wing back Lee Nolan raised a white flag and further points from centre forward Evan Kelly and full forward Ross Dunphy showed that the defending champions would have to work hard to retain the Jimma Rea cup. Tinryland opened their account in the 14th minute when Conall Dunne pointed after good work by team captain John Murphy before Eire Og edged 3 points ahead once again courtesy of Lee Nolan. Tinryland midfielder Conor McGrath then scored one of the points of the game after good play by centre back Cathal Gaffney. Tinryland were now at last beginning to settle down and more good play from Cathal Gaffney resulted in a goal scored by Conall Dunne which put Tinryland ahead for the first time with 10 minutes remaining in the first half. This lead was short lived however as Ross Dunphy levelled matters in the 21st minute while at the other end Adam Mullen was narrowly off target with a goal attempt. Eire Og were back in front 2 minutes before the break when midfielder James Brennan slotted over their 6th point. The first half then ended on a high note for Tinryland when Dylan Byrne crashed the ball to the Eire Og net after super play from Killian Maher and Cathal Gaffney and the Y I’s were then dealt a further blow when recently introduced substitute Kyle Kenneally was red carded for an off the ball incident which was flagged by the umpire. The first half was then brought to a close by referee David Hughes with Tinryland leading on the scoreboard 2-2 to 0-6. 

When play resumed Niall Lowry was introduced for Adam Mullen but it was Eire Og who began to up the ante despite their numerical disadvantage. A James Brennan point in the 32nd minute left the minimum separating the teams before Ciaran Larkin extended the Tinryland lead back out to 2 points in the 35th minute. Eire Og then attacked in waves with Tinryland placing their extra man in defence. The Teach Asca boys were rewarded for their efforts when Dylan Salter pointed two frees in the 39th and 40th minutes to level matters. At the other end more good work by Killian Maher and Ciaran Larkin resulted in Conall Dunne bagging his second vital goal which gave the league and championship holders a 3 point lead mid-way through the half. Eire Og came back for more however and a goal was averted when Tinryland corner back Corner Ryan deflected the ball over the bar before action at the other end resulted in a Tinryland point from Ciaran Larkin after good play by John Murphy and Niall Lowry. Dean Dunne was then introduced into the action but another free by Dylan salter was converted to leave only 2 points separating the sides with 9 minutes remaining.

Sloppy play in the Tinryland defence then handed another point to Eire Og scored by Evan Kelly and when James Brennan pointed in the 54th minute the teams were tied once more and Tinryland had a serious battle on their hands to retain the league title. This team have been in many battles however and a superb Niall Lowry point after good work by Killian Maher and Ciaran Larkin lifted the siege and the icing was put on the cake when Ciaran Larkin slotted over his 3rd point from play after good play by Dean Dunne. Shortly afterwards referee Hughes sounded the long whistle and John Murphy reveived the Rea cup on the steps of the Lennon stand from Michael Doran and Pat Nolan of Carlow Co. Board. Tinryland had outstanding players in defenders John Murphy, Cathal Gaffney, Conor Ryan and Rory Doyle together with 2 goal hero Conall Dunne, Ciaran Larkin, Dylan Byrne and Killian Maher. Final Score Tinryland 3-6 Eire Og 0-13.

Team: Ciaran Byrne, Seamus Curran, John Murphy, Conor Ryan, Fionnan Burke, Cathal Gaffney, Rory Doyle, Conor McGrath 0-1, Peter Hennessy, Bradleigh Nolan, Adam Mullen, Ciaran Larkin 0-3, Conall Dunne 2-1, Killian Maher, Dylan Byrne 1-0. Subs Niall Lowry 0-1, Dean Dunne.