Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Minors begin 2015 on a winning Note

posted 30 Mar 2015, 03:02 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland minor footballers began the new season where they left off in 2014 when easily accounting for Michael Davitts in a one sided game at Rathcrogue on Sunday last. With the gale force wind in their backs in the opening half Tinryland quickly set about building a big lead and they had stretched clear by 10 points as early as the 12th minute. Opening points from Dean Dunne (2), Fionnan Burke and Adam Mullen were followed by a superb goal from Mullen after a scything run from Michael Dobosz.  Tinryland’s second goal in the 17th minute was another cracker with Dean Dunne showing his finishing class. The game was virtually out of sight for Davits when Adam Mullen took a great pass from Killian Maher to crash the ball past Shane O’Reilly in the Leighlinbridge area team’s goal. When new referee Kevin O’Neill from Milford sounded the half time whistle Tinryland led by 3-14 to 0-0.

With the wind in their favour it was expected that Michael Davitts would up the ante in the second half but it was Tinryland who once again got the opening score when Rory Doyle pointed. Tinryland were then awarded a penalty when Sean Regan was fouled in the small square and Killian Maher showed his penalty taking skills by crashing the ball past the Michael Davitts goalie.

Michael Davitts finally got on the scoreboard when Oisin Nolan pointed in the 35th minute and they doubled that tally in the 40th minute when Ian Atkinson raised a white flag. Cuan Burke then replaced Bradleigh Nolan for Tinryland as Dean Dunne once again stretched the Tinryland lead. Despite the game being well over as a contest at this stage Michael Davits continued to press and they managed a further 3 points before Ceilum Darcy crashed the ball past Cian Nolan in the Tinryland goal. The home side had the final say when Michael Dobosz capped a fine performance with Tinryland's 6th goal to leave the final score reading Tinryland 6-18 Michael Davits 1-6.

Nine different Tinryland players got on the scoresheet in this game. Tinryland will be away to fenagh in their next league game on Sunday next 5th April.

Tinryland: Cian Nolan, Lee Kane, John Murphy 0-1, Bradleigh Nolan, Seamus Curran, Conor Ryan, Rory Doyle 0-1, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Fionnan Burke 0-1, Adam Mullen 2-2, Conall Dunne 0-4, Michael Dobosz 2-0, Sean Regan, Killian Maher 1-3, Dean Dunne 1-5, Cuan Burke.