Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Juniors Share the spoils with neighbours Palatine after leading by 6 points at half time

posted 17 Aug 2016, 06:45 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland Junior Footballers are still very much in contention for a place in the knockout stages of this year’s J.F.C. (A) following a share of the spoils with Palatine at the Netwatch Training centre in Fenagh on Tuesday 16th August. This was a game that Tinryland looked to be controlling when they led by 6 points at the break following two early goals from Alan Barrett and David Townsend after the latter score resulted from a rebound off the post following an attempted point by Adam Murphy.

Palatine had the misfortune of missing a penalty in that first half when Eoin McMahon’s shot went over the bar for a point. Alan Barrett and Ciaran Townsend also scored first half points for the men in blue and white which left the half time score reading Tinryland 2-4 Palatine 0-4.

Tinryland had many chances to consolidate their advantage in the early stages of the second half while Pal also had green flag chances and eventually succeeded in putting the ball past Ciaran Byrne in the 50th minute when full forward Darragh Moran rattled the net.  Tinryland’s final point of the match came via Alan Barrett with 13 minutes remaining while Palatine with points from Gavin Farrell, Eoin McMahon and Darragh Moran finished strongly to gain a share of the spoils.

With St. Patricks defeating Rathvilly it looks like Tinryland is guaranteed an automatic spot in the Junior (A) knockout stages regardless of the result against Rathvilly.

Final score Tinryland 2-7 Palatine 2-7.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Liam Fitzpatrick, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Dermot McGuill, Shane O’Neill, Adam Dunne, Adam Murphy, Ciaran Townsend 0-2, Paul Doyle 0-1, Alan Barrett 1-4, Ciaran Larkin, David Townsend 1-0, Padraig Delaney, John Fleming. Sun Eamonn Murphy for Padraig Delaney 47 minutes.

Palatine: Cormac Holloway, Chris O’Brien, James Kehoe, Chris Bermingham, Kevin Hanley, Gavin Farrell 0-1f, Niall Cawley 0-1, Adam Duggan, Billy Murphy 0-1, Paul Harland, Eoin McMahon 0-4, pen, 2 frees, Brian O’Mahoney, Patrick Cushen, Darragh Moran 1-3, Paddy Carroll.