Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Juniors progress to Talbot Hotel J.F.C. (A) semi- final with win over Rathvilly

posted 8 Sep 2016, 02:22 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland’s no 1 junior team progressed to the Talbot Hotel Junior football championship A semi-final when their one point victory over Rathvilly at Bro Leo park Tullow on Tuesday 6th September enabled the men in blue and white to remain unbeaten so far and top Group A .

With Rathvilly already out of this year’s title race Tinryland were expected to have a comfortable passage to the knockout stages but in the end they had to survive a determined rally by the Wicklow border side before the job was done. The early stages of this game saw both sides evenly matched and Rathvilly led by 3 points to 2 in the opening quarter with Padraig Delaney and Alan Barrett notching the Tinryland points. Tinryland were dealt a blow when former senior player Paul Doyle had to retire with an injury but his replacement Gregg Murphy made a quick impact when he won possession and transferred the ball to John Fleming who made no mistake in scoring Tinryland’s opening goal in the 25th minute. Further first half points from Ciaran Townsend and Ciaran Larkin enabled Tinryland to lead by 1-4 to 0-3 when the half time whistle was sounded.

The second half was 10 minutes old when Gregg Murphy received a sweet pass from Alan Barrett to despatch the ball to the Rathvilly net which gave his side a 6 point lead with 20 minutes remaining.

Rathvilly then enjoyed a spell of dominance and combined with some woeful Tinryland shooting the Rathvilly boys gradually clawed back the defecit as the game entered the closing stages. Tinryland managed to hold on however and ran out winners on a scoreline of 2-6 to 0-11. Adam Murphy with a great point and Alan Barrett both helped to lift the siege with late points. Tinryland also introduced 2 subs in that second half with Padraic Whelan replacing Ciaran Townsend and Killian Maher coming on for Dermot McGuill.  Outstanding for Tinryland were Goalkeeper Sean McLoughlin who made a great first half save while defenders Liam Fitzpatrick, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Dermot McGuill, Shane O’Neill and Adam Dunne could not be faulted. Tinryland now have a few weeks to re- group and improve their fitness levels and their shooting before the semi- final.

Tinryland: Sean McLoughlin, Liam Fitzpatrick, Peter Doran, Conor Ryan, Dermot McGuill, Shane O’Neill, Adam Dunne, Adam Murphy 0-1, Ciaran Townsend 0-1, Ciaran Larkin 0-1, Alan Barrett 0-2, John Fleming 1-0, David Townsend, Padraig Delaney 0-1, Paul Doyle. Subs: Gregg Murphy 1-0, Padraic Whelan, Killian Maher.