Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Juniors bow out tamely at first hurdle in Carlow J.F. A championship

posted 7 Aug 2013, 15:42 by

By Eamonn Byrne


Tinryland junior footballers exited the Junior A championship at the first hurdle when they were comprehensively defeated by Rathvilly at Bro. Leo Park in Tullow on Tuesday6th August. Overall this was a very disapointing performance by the Tinryland lads who were forced to play second fiddle to an average Rathvilly side. The winners  opened the scoring in the 7th minute with a point from a  successful free but Tinryland were back on terms 2 minutes later with a wonderful Chris Townsend point following good work by Jeff Abbott. After another Rathvilly point in the 10th minute Tinryland were back on terms midway through the half when Paul Doyle pointed following more good work from Abbott. Rathvilly then began to dominate the game but luckily for Tinryland they did not have their shooting boots on. In total Rathvilly shot eleven wides in that first half and instead of being well ahead at the break they retired at the interval leading by 0-5 to 0-3 with Tinryland’s only other first half score coming from a successful Chris Townsend free following a foul on Conor O’Brien in the 27th minute.

Tinryland introduced Garry Fields and Owen O’Gorman into the fray at half time for Jeff Abbott and Paul McGrath and within 40 seconds of the restart Chris Townsend left the minimum between the sides when he converted another free. This was as good as it got for Tinryland however and Rathvilly and neutral supporters were then treated to 3 wonderful points in a three minute spell by Rathvilly midfielder Stephen Murphy. Two further points for the Wicklow border outfit before the 40th minute stretched the lead to 6 points and it was the 54th minute before we scored again when sub Garry Scully pointed. By that time Rathvilly led by 0-13 to 0-5 and when a long ball deceived the Tinryland defence the scoreboard read Rathvilly 1-13  Tinryland 0-5 with 4 minutes remaining. Tinryland did get a consolation point from Paul Doyle before the end but it was Rathvilly who had the final say when their man of the match Stephen Murphy (Brother of Brendan) pointed in the 58th minute to leave the final score Rathvilly 1-14 Tinryland 0-6.


Team: Colm Nolan, James Moore, Brian Byrne, John Kelly, Conor O’Brien, Liam Fitzpatrick, Paul McGrath, Patrick Townsend, Shane Delaney, Padraig Delaney, Chris Townsend 0-3, David Townsend, Jeff Abbott, Paul Doyle 0-2, Dean Farrell. Subs Garry Fields, Owen O’Gorman, Garry Scully 0-1.