Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland Defeat MLR in SFL Div 1

posted 14 May 2018, 02:06 by

By Eamonn Byrne

                      Tinryland 2-17                             Mount Leinster Rangers 0-7

Tinryland captured their 2nd brace of S.F.L. division 1 points in the space of 5 days when overcoming an understrength Rangers on Sunday last. Mark Morrissey and Cormac Walshe accounted for 1-11 between them for the home side who led by 7 points at the interval.

Mount Leinster Rangers who kicked 9 wides in the game began the second half in a positive fashion and they scored 4 unanswered points in the opening 15 minutes via Dean Grennan (2), Jon Nolan, and former Carlow player Gary Kelly. When the home side finally woke from their early second half slumber they went on to dominate the remainder of the game aided by a well worked Matthew O’Toole goal and further points from Mark Morrissey, John Murphy, Cormac Walshe (3), and sub. Gregg Murphy. Outstanding for Tinryland were John Murphy, Mark Morrissey, Matthew O’Toole, Adam Dunne, Conor Ryan, Cormac Walshe and Conor O’Toole. Mount Leinster Rangers were best served by goalkeeper Paul Foley together with Gary Kelly, Conor Fenlon, Rory Joyce and Jon Nolan.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Conor Ryan, John Murphy 0-1, Cuan Burke, Rory Doyle 0-1, Conor Byrne, Adam Dunne, Keith Jackson, Mark Morrissey 1-4, Niall Lowry, Shane O’Neill, Matthew O’Toole 0-1, Cormac Walshe 0-7, Paul Doyle, Conor O’Toole 0-1. Subs: Peter Hennessy, Glen Doyle, Cian Moore, Gregg Murphy, Jack Lowry, Ciaran Townsend.

Mount Leinster Rangers: Paul Foley, Seamus Kelly, John Coady, Shane O’Neill, Michael Malone, Gary Kelly, M.J. Doran, Conor Fenlon, Tony Lawlor, Jon Nolan, Willie Hickey, Rory Joyce, Daniel Ryan, James Kelly, Dean Grennan.

Referee David Hickey Fenagh