Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland back on track in Carlow S.F.C. after workmanlike performance

posted 4 Aug 2013, 10:19 by

 By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland senior footballers got their Carlow S.F.C. campaign back on track after a workmanlike win against O’Hanrahans in Dr. Cullen park on Saturday 3rd August.

Tinryland were never headed in this game after Paul Broderick converted a 50 metre free from the Oak Park sideline which was won by Ian Scully 2 minutes after the throw in.

Paul repeated the dose in the 7th minute with another spectacular conversion from a tight angle following a foul on Shane Webb. Tinryland should have been further ahead at this stage but it was the ‘Blues’ who were next to score with successive points from play by corner forward Mark Davis and wing forward Joe Lee as Tinryland appeared to be lapsing in concentration. Paul Broderick restored Tinryland’s advantage in the 14th minute following  a pass from Shane Webb and within 60 seconds we were two up once again following a spectacular point by the hard working Ian Scully. Next it was the turn of Glen Doyle to make his mark and his well struck 50 metre free sailed between the posts to leave Tinryland ahead by 5 points to 2 after 16 minutes. The team was moving well at this stage and Diarmaid Walshe  extended the lead to 4 points in the 17th minute when he pointed following a lay off from Ian Scully. After John Dwyer was wide of the mark with a scoring chance the O Hanrahan’s were awarded a soft free which was duly converted by their best player Graham Power. The game then went a bit flat for a spell and both sides missed chances in a ten minute scoreless  spell. The final act of the first half saw Ian Scully extend the Tinryland lead after a pass from Matthew O’Toole to leave the half time scoreboard reading Tinryland 0-7 O’Hanrahans 0-3.

When play resumed O’Hanrahans missed another free while Tinryland were guilty of a number of sloppy passes. In the 34th minute Diarmaid Walshe won a free which was duly converted by Glen Doyle. Ian Scully then hit the crossbar with a speculative shot from the right wing before Shane Webb increased the advantage with a great point following good interplay involving Jeff Sutton and Matthew O’Toole.  Tinryland then introduced Niall Barrett into the fray for Conor Byrne who was carrying an injury and after O’Hanrahans missed a scorable free they were then successful when Danny Thompson pointed to leave us ahead by 9 points to 4 after 42 minutes. Diarmaid Walshe then won another free which was converted by Paul Broderick but the Blues would not lie down and Carlow legend Mark Carpenter scored a spectacular point in the 46th minute to leave the scoreboard reading 0-10 points to 0-5 at this stage.  With the light fading in Dr. Cullen park the pitch was then lit up by a brilliant long range Glen Doyle point in the 52nd minute to extend the Tinryland lead. Cathal O’Toole was then introduced for Jeff Sutton and after the O’Hanrahans had scored another point via Power Cathal popped up to score a great point after a pass from Diarmaid Walshe. Garry Morrissey then replaced Glen for the final minutes as the game came to its conclusion. It was not a pretty win but a win is a win all the same and the lads can be satisfied with their evenings work before a 3 week break until the next championship match against Naomh Eoin.The Tinryland defence of Trevor O’Reilly, Conor Byrne, Mark Dempsey, John Paul Moore Danny Moran, Cian Moore, Shane Webb and sub Niall Barrett can be happy with their nights work holding the opposition to 4 points from play and not conceding too many frees. Likewise up front the midfield pairing of  Shane Redmond and John Dwyer together with the hard working forward line of  Matthew O’Toole, Paul  Broderick, Jeff Sutton , Diarmaid Walsh,  Glen Doyle,  EI  Scully and Cathal O’Toole scored some spectacular points despite not really having a clear cut goal chance.  Final Score Tinryland 0-12 O'Hanrahan's 0-6

Team: Trevor O’Reilly, Conor Byrne, Mark Dempsey, John Paul Moore, Danny Moran,

Cian Moore, Shane Webb 0-1, Shane Redmond, John Dwyer, Matthew O’Toole, Paul Broderick 0-4, Jeff Sutton, Diarmaid Walsh 0-1, Glen Doyle 0-3, Ian Scully 0-2.

Subs Niall Barrett, Cathal O’Toole 0-1, Garry Morrissey.