Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland and Palatine must do it all again

posted 3 Jul 2012, 00:45 by

Tinryland survive Palatine 2nd half rally to gain a draw in S.F.L. semi final

 By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland senior footballers must play neighbours Palatine once again on Tuesday night 3rd July after the sides finished level in a dour battle at Dr Cullen park on Sunday evening 1st July. Tinryland shaded the first half exchanges to lead by 1-5 to 0-5 at the break with Evan Doyles 23rd minute goal proving the difference between the sides at the interval.

Palatine opened the scoring in the 1st minute before 2 Evan Doyle points from frees left Tinryland ahead by the minimum by the 12th minute. Mid way through the opening half Palatine equalised before the best score of the match came from Paul Broderick following great work by Glen Doyle. The teams then traded points once more with Paul Brodericks 19th minute effort the result of one of the games best moves involving Danny Moran, Cian Moore and Keith Jackson. Evan Doyle’s 23rd minute goal finally put daylight between the teams but the Palatine response was immediate with another point in the 24th minute. Jeff Sutton and Keith Jackson combined for the latter to point in the 25th minute before Palatine closed the first half scoring with a point which left the half time score 1-5 to 0-5 in favour of Tinryland.

On the resumption Palatine had reduced the margin to the minimum with points in the 31st and 34th minutes before Cormac  Walshe slotted over a great point in the 44th minute following good work by Cian Moore and Evan Doyle. Evan had a great chance to score his second goal in the 48th minute but Pal goalkeeper Craig Kearney blocked the shot. Palatine then enjoyed their best spell in the following 15 minutes but two points was scant reward for their domination. Paul broderick deep in injury time restored Tinryland’s lead from a close in free but in the final act Palatine got a deserved equaliser when they pointed a long range free.

Tinryland will have to show a good deal more improvement if they are to advance to a final meeting with O’Hanrahans on Sunday 8th July. Tinryland: Trevor O’Reilly, Conor Byrne, John Paul Moore, Niall Barrett, Danny Moran, Shane O’Neill, Jeff Sutton, Keith Jackson 0-1, John Dwyer, Cormac Walsh 0-1, Evan Doyle 1-2, Glen Doyle, Richard Whyte, Cian Moore, Paul Broderick 0-3. Subs Diarmaid Walshe, Cian Lawlor