Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland advance to J.F.C. (B) quarter final despite 5 point loss to Kildavin-Clonegal

posted 19 Jul 2018, 05:44 by

By Eamonn Byrne


Kildavin-Clonegal 4-9                                                  Tinryland 3-7

The Carlow J.F.C. (B) knockout stages were finalised following this exciting final group 2 fixture at Rathcrogue on Wednesday last 18th July. The winners advanced to the semi-final while Tinryland progress to the quarter final after Eire Og overcame O’Hanrahans at Pairc Ui Bhrian.

After a competitive opening 25 minutes Tinryland led by the minimum following well taken points from Gary Moran, Richard Whyte, Joe Byrne and Gregg Murphy (2). Kildavin-Clonegal stayed in touch with early scores from Dylan Kelly, Eoin Roche, Mark Nolan and Richard Sinnott.

The shape of the game was then formed in a 5 minute spell just before the interval when the Wexford border team added 2-3 without reply with their goals coming from corner forward Podge Ryan and centre forward Mark Nolan after some sloppy defending by the home side.

Tinryland rang the changes at half time and one of their substitutes Ronan Curran slotted over a point within 30 seconds of the re-start before full forward Richie Whyte signalled a major revival when he found the K-C net in the 36th minute. The Kildavin-Clonegal response was swift and another Podge Ryan goal in the 40th minute extended their lead back to 7 points. Both sides then emptied their benches and with 12 minutes remaining Tinryland were awarded a penalty which Gary Moran duly converted. At the other end sub Paddy Kavanagh slotted home a 4th goal for Kildavin-Clonegal. Tinryland continued to press and were rewarded with a point and a goal from substitutes Niall Barrett and Barry Power before former Carlow senior player Richard Sinnott had the luxury of tapping a penalty over the bar to ensure that his team advanced to the semi-final as group 2 winners. One pleasing aspect from Tinryland’s point of view was that 28 players were available for this fixture. Not bad going for a rural club’s third string.

Outstanding for Kildavin-Clonegal were Liam Murphy, Andrew Nolan, Paul Kelly, Ian St. Ledger, Eoin Roche, and Podge Ryan. Tinryland’s stand out player was the diminutive Colm Kearney backed up by Gary Scully, Gregg Murphy, Eoghan Hosey, Jack Lowry and Gary Moran.

Kildavin-Clonegal: Damien Byrne, James Kavanagh, Liam Murphy, Robert St. Ledger, Andrew Nolan 0-1, Paul Kelly, Martin Boland, Killian Redmond, Barry Foley, Dylan Kelly 0-1, Mark Nolan 1-1, Ian St. Ledger 0-1, Eoin Roche 0-1, Richard Sinnott 0-3, Padraig Ryan 2-1. Subs: Paddy Kavanagh 1-0, Donnacha Ryan, Niall Hickey.

Tinryland: Lee Buggle, Fergal Kelly, Colm Kearney, Joey Ryan, Gary Scully, David O’Shea, James Murphy, Gregg Murphy 0-1, Eoghan Hosey, Gary Moran 1-2, Jack Lowry, Joe Byrne 0-1, Cathal Whelan, Richard Whyte 1-1, Padraig Delaney. Subs: Dean Farrell, Niall Barrett 0-1, Ronan Curran 0-1, Kuba Dobosz, Mark Walshe, Barry Power 1-0.

Referee Cathal McSteen