Match Reports‎ > ‎

Tinryland advance in Carlow J.F.C. A despite less than impressive second half

posted 25 Jul 2012, 02:04 by

By Eamonn Byrne


When they were good they were very very good but when they were bad they were ???????. That old childhood saying sums up the performance of Tinryland Junior A squad in the Carlow Junior Football championship against Naomh Eoin at McGrath park in Bagenalstown on Tuesday 24th July.  A very impressive first half saw the boys in blue and white in full control with the fast moving forward line making great use of the ball. David Townsend, Kevin Barrett and Garry Fields opened up the Myshall defence on numerous occasions and with Tinryland in control in most sectors the half time score of 3-7 to 1-2 left Tinryland players, management and supporters thinking that the job was done and we were safely into the next round. That mindset can often be the downfall of teams and when the second half began the pattern of the game completely changed as Naomh Eoin threw caution to the wind to gradually eat into the Tinryland lead while Tinryland for whatever reason took their foot off the pedal and failed to score for all of 22 minutes of the second half. At this stage Naomh Eoin were only 4 points in arrears but to their credit the Tinryland lads after a few positional changes finally awoke from their slumbers to finally put the issue beyond doubt.  A David Townsend goal and two late points left the final score Tinryland 4-9 Naomh Eoin 2-8. Tinryland had outstanding players in defenders Patrick Townsend, Eddie Dowling, Brian Farrell, Matthew O’Toole and Conor O’Brien together with John Brick Farrell at midfield and forwards Kevin Barrett, Garry Fields and David Townsend who finished with a personal tally of 2-4.

Tinryland: Colm Nolan, Joey Ryan, Patrick Townsend, Conor O’Brien, Eddie Dowling, Matthew O’Toole, P J Murphy, Brian Farrell, John Farrell, Greg Murphy, Dean Farrell, Jack Lowry,  Garry Fields, Kevin Barrett, David Townsend. Subs: Eric Bates, David McDonough, John Kelly, Fiach Byrne.