Match Reports‎ > ‎

SFL Div 3 Tinryland V Palatine

posted 3 Jun 2018, 14:34 by

By Eamonn Byrne

   Tinryland 3-16                                     Palatine 0-13

Tinryland’s 2nd string were impressive in winning the division 3 points against neighbours Palatine at Rathcrogue on Thursday last 31st May. The home side were never headed after veteran corner forward Niall Barrett deflected a high delivery to the net after only 30 seconds of play. Palatine responded with 3 points via Lee Gordon, Eoin McMahon and Cian Forkan before Tinryland re-grouped to raise white flags from Gregg Murphy, Niall Barrett, Gary Fields (3,) Michael Dobosz,, Dean Farrell and David Townsend. The game should have been wrapped up at this stage as the men in blue and white fluffed 4 gilt edged goal chances. Towards the end of the opening half Palatine staged a mini rally with points from Lee Gordon and Eoin McMahon which left them trailing by 6 points at the interval. Half Time score Tinryland 1-10 Palatine 0-7.

The start of the 2nd half was a replica of the beginning of the first half as Tinryland struck first with a brilliant Dean Farrell point with the men from the Kildare border responding with points from McMahon and Cathal O’Neill.  Tinryland then began to exert control with 3 quick points from the impressive Gary Fields, David Townsend and sub Padraig Townsend before 2 well worked goals from Fields and David Townsend left 13 points separating the sides entering the final quarter.

On a warm evening the scoring rate dropped in the closing stages with both sides only managing 2 points each before referee Cathal McSteen sounded the full time whistle.

Outstanding for the winners were goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne together with Mark Dempsey, Adam Dunne, Shane O’Neill, Peter Doran, Gregg Murphy, Dean Farrell, Niall Barrett and Gary Fields. Palatine’s best players included Aiden Murphy, Cathal O’Neill, Cian Forkan, Lee Gordon, Gavin Farrell and Eoin McMahon.

Tinryland will wrap up the division 3 campaign with a home fixture against Leighlinbridge on tomorrow Saturday 2nd June at 7 p.m. 

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Jack Lowry, Peter Doran, Kuba Dobosz, Colm Kearney, Mark Dempsey, Tommy Dunne, Adam Dunne 0-1, Shane O’Neill, Michael Dobosz 0-1, Gregg Murphy 0-1, Dean Farrell 0-2, Niall Barrett 1-1, David Townsend 1-3, Gary Fields 1-6. Subs: Padraig Townsend 0-1, Cathal Whelan, Padraic Delaney, Gary Scully.

Palatine: Cormac Holloway, Chris O’Brien, Brian Farrell, Alan Daly, Kevin Hanley, Aidan Murphy, David Kinsella, Cian Forkan 0-1, Gavin Farrell, Colm Heneghan, Lee Gordon 0-3, Cathal O’Neill 0-2, Eoin McMahon 0-6, Darragh Moran, Darren Reid 0-1. Subs Matty Kenny, Bobby Crowley, Brendan Reid, Karl Rennick. 

Referee Cathal McSteen