Match Reports‎ > ‎

O’Hanrahans too strong for Tinryland in round 2 of S.F.L division 1

posted 5 Apr 2016, 07:50 by
By Eamonn Byrne 

Tinryland senior footballers were brought back down to earth when they were outclassed by a fast moving O’Hanrahans outfit in the 2nd round of the S.F.L division 1 played in Deerpark on Sunday 3rd April. After their opening round win against Kildavin-Clonegal Tinryland never got to grips with the home team who were dominant in every sector. O’Hanrahans took the lead in the first minute and were never headed afterwards despite a successful free from Diarmaid Walshe in the 2nd minute which briefly levelled matters. The Blues went on to dominate the rest of the opening half and were well worth their 1-8 to 0-2 half time lead. It could have been worse for Tinryland at this stage as the woodwork saved a certain goal for the home team who had quality players in every line including stand outs Ray Walker, Danny Thompson, Graham Delaney, Simon Doyle, Graham Power and Daryl Hayden. Tinryland’s only other first half score was another Diarmaid Walshe converted free in the 7th minute and it took another 35 minutes before the first score from play arrived when Keith Jackson slotted over a point at the Oak park end in the 42nd minute. By this stage the O’Hanrahans led by 1-12 to 0-3 and the rest of the game proved to be a cakewalk for last year’ s Intermediate champions who will surely be a force to be reckoned with in 2016.

With the breeze in their favour in the 2nd half Tinryland were a little more competitive and the margin was reduced to 8 points during a brief spell of dominance by the away team after a  point from substitute Glenn Doyle and a well worked Diarmaid Walshe goal following good play by Conor and Cathal O’Toole another 2nd half substitute. O’Hanrahans then regained the initiative scoring a further 2-3 as the Tinryland challenge totally evaporated. The final Tinryland score was a Conor O’Toole point in the 49th minute which left the full time score O’Hanrahans 3-15 Tinryland 1-5. The seniors are back in action on this coming Sunday 10th April with a home fixture against Old Leighlin at 6 p.m.

Tinryland: Ciaran Byrne, Danny Moran, Conor Byrne, Dylan Byrne, Conor O’Toole, Cathal Gaffney, Conor McGrath, Keith Jackson, Richard Whyte, Mark Lawlor, Cian Moore, Peter Hennessy, Ciaran Townsend, Diarmaid Walshe 1-2, Niall Lowry. Subs Cian Lawlor, Ciaran Larkin, Cathal O’Toole, Glen Doyle,