Match Reports‎ > ‎

Minors maintain unbeaten league record with 6 point win over Eire Og

posted 19 Apr 2015, 02:29 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland minor footballers made it 3 wins from 3 matches played when they accounted for old rivals Eire Og in a competitive M.F.L. division 1 game in Rathcrogue on Saturday 18th April. Eire Og opened the scoring within sixty seconds when corner forward Mattie Brennan slotted over a point before Tinryland corner forward Conall Dunne levelled matters 2 minutes later following excellent play by Niall Lowry, Rory Doyle and Killian Maher. The home team added two further points in the 6th and 7th minutes via Conall Dunne after good play by Conor McGrath and Dean Dunne and by Niall Lowry who converted a free won by midfielder Peter Hennessy. Tinryland were then rocked back to reality when Eire Og wing forward Craig Snoddy rattled the Tinryland net and a point from a free by Dylan Salter left the Teach Asca boys 2 points clear by the 10th minute. Tinryland then settled down to take the game to Eire Og and were rewarded by 3 successive sweetly struck conversions from Niall Lowry to edge us back in front 5 minutes before half time. Eire Og responded positively and it took a great save by Tinryland goalie Ciaran Byrne to keep the lead intact before Dylan Salter levelled matters once again with a successful free in the 26th minute. On the stroke of half time Conall Dunne who was excellent throughout put Tinryland back in the lead with another great point following a pass from Niall Lowry. Half time score Tinryland 0-7 Eire Og 1-3. When referee Seamie Doyle restarted play Keelan Gaffney was introduced for Adam Mullen and the substitute was involved immediately when himself, Rory Doyle and Conall Dunne transferred the ball to Dean Dunne who crashed it to the Eire Og net to extend the Tinryland lead to 4 points. Eire Og’s response was swift however and after Eire Og had narrowly missed a goal the ball was despatched to the Tinryland net moments later when wing forward Evan Dudley took advantage of a mix up in the Tinryland defence to raise a green flag and leave the minimum separating the teams. This shock seemed to spur on the home side and a Peter Hennessy point following great play by Keelan Gaffney, Niall Lowry, Rory Doyle and Conor Mcgrath was followed by a Conall Dunne point. Ciaran Larkin then stretched the lead to 4 points in the 38th minute following good play by Killian Maher and Cathal Gaffney while Gaffney himself got in on the scoring act in the 39th minute following more good play by Niall Lowry. Peter Hennessy then won a free for Tinryland which was duly converted By Niall before Dylan Salter made it a good night for free takers when he converted an Eire Og free mid-way through the 2nd half. Another Tinryland point from Niall Lowry following a pass from Conall Dunne was followed by a Dunne point following a transfer from Lowry and with 13 minutes remaining Tinryland now led by 1-14 to 2-4. Michael Dobosz then entered the fray for Tinryland as Dylan Salter converted another free for the town team. Seamus Curran was also introduced at this stage as Salter chipped away at the Tinryland lead scoring 3 successive free’s in a 3 minute spell to leave only 3 points separating the sides with 3 minutes left on the clock. With the Tinryland supporters looking a little anxious as time ticked away the icing was put on the cake with a brilliant goal from sub Keelan Gaffney who capped a fine performance when he won possession and ran 20 metres before blasting the ball to the Eire Og net. This was the last significant play in an entertaining game that saw Tinryland run out winners on a scoreline of 2-14 to 2-8.

Tinryland had excellent performers in goalkeeper Ciaran Byrne together with defenders John Murphy, Cathal Gaffney and Rory Doyle. Midfielders Niall Lowry and Peter hennessy won plenty of possession and were ably assisted by a hard working forward sextet that saw Conall Dunne, Conor McGrath and Killian Maher stand out.

Team: Ciaran Byrne, Bradleigh Nolan, John Murphy, Dylan Reamsbottom, Conor Ryan, Cathal Gaffney 0-1, Rory Doyle, Niall Lowry 0-6, Peter Hennessy 0-1, Ciaran Larkin 0-1, Adam Mullen, Conor McGrath, Dean Dunne 1-0, Killian Maher, Conall Dunne 0-5. Subs Keelan Gaffney 1-0, Michael Dobosz, Seamus Curran.