Match Reports‎ > ‎

McGrath the star man as Junior Bs hoover up another brace of points in Div.5

posted 21 May 2015, 13:22 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Tinryland junior B team maintained their good form when they defeated Fenagh in a competitive Division 5 game in Hogan Park on Wednesday 20th May. Fenagh got off to a lightening start in this game and were 4 points up within 6 minutes of the throw in. Tinryland’s opening score came from Mick Delaney in the 7th minute and was quickly followed by another point from Gary Scully in the 7th minute. By the 12th minute the side were all square following two Conor McGrath points and the same player edged Tinryland ahead with another point in the 21st minute. The Conor McGrath show continued 6 minutes later with another point which gave Tinryland a one point lead at the interval.

Half time score: Tinryland 0-6 Fenagh 0-5

When play resumed, Fenagh were back on terms with a point in the opening 5 minutes. An 8th minute barren scoring spell was broken when Conor McGrath with his 5th point, regained the lead for the men in blue and white. The crucial score of the game came in the 50th minute when Alan ‘Benson’ Byrne crashed the ball to the Fenagh net after a great pass from Killian Maher. Conor McGrath extended the advantage to 5 points when he raised a white flag in the 55th minute before two quick points from Fenagh left only a goal between the sides entering the final stages. The Tinryland scoring was completed two minutes before the end when Conor McGrath scored his 7th point and despite a late Fenagh rally that yielded two points, Tinryland improved their league position considerably on a final score of 1-9 to 0-10. Conor McGrath was the man of the match for Tinryland while other outstanding players were Sean Kirwan, Conor Ryan, Killian Maher, Gary Scully and Alan Byrne.

Tinryland team: Colm Nolan, Niall Fitzpatrick, Sean Kirwan, Conor Ryan, Niall Scully, Killian Maher, Barry Power, Alan Kirwan, Peter Hennessy, Gary Scully 0-1, Adam Mullen, Conor McGrath 0-7, Eoin Fields, Alan Byrne 1-0, Mick Delaney 0-1.