Match Reports‎ > ‎

Kildavin-Clonegal claim S.F.L Div. 3 points V Tinryland

posted 14 Apr 2013, 05:02 by
Kildavin-Clonegal stage second half rally to claim S By Eamon Byrne
Kildavin-Clonegal stage second half rally to claim S.F.L Div. 3 points V Tinryland

Kildavin-Clonegal 1-12 Tinryland 1-9

The wind and rain in Spellman Park Kildavin made this a game of 2 halves between the home side and Tinryland in the 2nd round of the Carlow S.F.L. Div 3 on Saturday 13th April. With the elements in their favour in the opening half Tinryland dominated and were well worth their 8 point lead when the half time whistle sounded. Garry Fields opened the Tinryland account in the 3rd minute when he successfully converted a free and a brilliant score from Chris Townsend two minutes later had the Tinryland supporters happy. Another Garry Fields point from play in the 9th minute was matched by the opening score from Kildavin-Clonegal by their full forward Paul Nolan. Sustained Tinryland pressure between the 10th and 20th minutes failed to yield any return but the boys in blue and white were finally rewarded in the 22nd minute when full forward David Townsend scored a gem of a goal following a great passing movement involving Mark Doran, James Moore and Garry Scully. David then taggeg on another point 60 seconds later following more good work from Moore and Scully before Paul Nolan doubled the home sides tally 6 minutes before the interval.. The final stages of the first half saw brilliant play from Tinryland being rewarded by excellent scores from Chris Townsend (2) and David Townsend to leave the scoreboard reading1 7 to 0-2 in our favour when referee Pat Keogh sounded the short whistle.

With the elements now against them Tinryland knew they had a battle to fight and Kildavin quickly went about closing the gap with a brace of early points from midfielder Dan Murphy leaving the score at 1-7 to 0-4 before Garry Fields steadied the ship in the 35th minute with a well taken point following good work by Jeff Abbott. It was all Kildavin for the following 10 minutes as they ate into the Tinryland lead. A succesion of points from Matt Kavanagh, Padraig Ryan, Paul Nolan and Owen Roche was followed by a cracking goal from Nolan to leave matters all square with 12 minutes remaining.

The inevitable then happened when the home side took the lead for the first time with a point from Dan Murphy. To their credit Tinryland staged another rally which yielded the equaliser from Garry Fields but Kildavin finished strongly scoring the final trio of points from Dan Murphy (2) and Paul Nolan to leave the final score1-12 to 1-9 in their favour.

Tinryland had outstanding players in James Moore, Padraig Delaney, Garry Scully, Patrick Townsend, Dean Farrell Chris Townsend and David Townsend

Tinryland’s next fixture is at home to neighbours Milford on Saturday next 20th April at 6.45 p.m.

Team: Colm Nolan, Conor O’Brien,James Moore, Paddy Brown, Paul McGrath, Padraig Delaney, Garry Scully, Mark Doran, Patrick Townsend, Garry Fields 0-4, Chris Townsend Captain 0-3, Jeff Abbott, Michael Delaney, David Townsend 1-2, Dean Farrell

Subs Conor Nolan, Jack Lowry , John Jackson