Match Reports‎ > ‎

JFC B Tinryland Vs Éire Óg

posted 28 Jun 2018, 05:56 by

By Eamonn Byrne

                Eire Og 5-14                                                           Tinryland 2-13

Blanket defence was non- existent in this high scoring game at Pairc Ui Bhrian on Wednesday last 27th June when the home side got back to winning ways after losing their opening game to Kildavin-Clonegal.

Full forward James Ryan opened the Eire Og account in the 4th minute with a cracking goal and when he repeated this effort 4 minutes later the men in red and white looked to be in cruise control. Tinryland responded with a string of well worked points from Richard Whyte, Gregg Murphy, Dinny Farrell, Garry Scully and Garry Moran before Leigh Callinan, Ben Costello, Andy Byrne and Diarmuid Ruth raised white flags for the home side. Andy Byrne found the Tinryland net with another Eire Og goal 4 minutes before the interval but Tinryland kept responding with a pair of well taken points from their best forward Garry Moran.

Tinryland lost one of their most influential players Richard Whyte with a hamstring injury just before the break and when play resumed James Ryan completed his hat trick when he crashed the ball past Tinryland goalkeeper Mick Delaney. Garry Moran then began to dominate for Tinryland scoring a goal and 3 points in a 4 minute spell to leave 6 points separating the sides mid- way through the second half. Eire Og responded with a Tomas Walshe goal followed by excellent points from Diarmuid Ruth, Leigh Callinan, Mark Corcoran and Cathal Myers before Tinryland finished on a positive note with another Moran point and a superb goal from the experienced Niall Barrett who deflected the ball past former Donegal senior goalkeeper Gerry McGill who was back in the Eire Og colours in this match.

Outstanding for Eire Og were goalkeeper Gerry McGill together with Conor Walsh, Cathal Myers, Leigh Callinan and the full forward line of Mark Corcoran, James Ryan and Andy Byrne who scored 4-8 between them.

Tinryland’s most prominent players were Colm Kearney, Garry Scully, David O’Shea, John Whyte, Dinny Farrell and Garry Moran who finished with a personal tally of 1-8. Tinryland will be back in action in the J.F.C. (B) when they play Kildavin-Clonegal in the final group stage game on Wednesday 18th July.

Eire Og: Gerry McGill, Paul Barry, Sean Dunne, Colm Griffin, Diarmuid Ruth 0-3, Conor Walsh, Tomas Walsh 1-0, Tadhg Dooley, Cathal Myers 0-1, John Gilligan, Leigh Callinan 0-3, Ben Costello 0-2, Mark Corcoran 0-1, James Ryan 3-1, Andy Byrne 1-3. Subs: Michael Griffin, Ian Mahon, Lee Mulhall, Alan Curran, Paul Behan, Liam Reamsbottom.

Tinryland: Mick Delaney, Colm Kearney, Peter Doran, Joey Ryan, Garry Scully 0-1, John Whyte, James Murphy, Gregg Murphy 0-1, David O’Shea, Dinny Farrell 0-2, Jack Lowry, Fergal Kelly, Garry Moran 1-8, Richard Whyte 0-1, Padraig Delaney. Subs: Joe Byrne, Niall Barrett 1-0, Alan Byrne, Mark Walshe

Referee Billy Fanning (Ballon)