Match Reports‎ > ‎

Good performance from Tinryland Junior B team despite one point loss

posted 2 Apr 2015, 10:55 by
By Eamonn Byrne & John McCullough
Tinryland Junior B team opened their division 5 campaign away to Clonmore on Wednesday last 1st April and were unlucky not to get something from the game after a satisfactory performance.

Andrew Hanley opened the scoring for Tinryland when he pointed in the 5th minute before Clonmore levelled matters 10 minutes later when Darren McGrath raised a white flag. Clonmore then scored the first goal of the game via corner forward Adam Doyle before Barry Power replied with a good goal for the men in Blue and white hoops to leave matters all square after 14 minutes. Another Clonmore point from Darren McGrath edged the home side ahead in the 15th minute before Tinryland finished the half on a high note scoring a point from Mick Delaney and a brilliant goal from Alan “Benson” Byrne. Half time score Tinryland 2-2 Clonmore 1-2.

When the 2nd half began it was Clonmore who were first on the scoreboard when their best player Darren McGrath scored a brace of points in the 38th and 39th minutes. Andrew Hanley and Clive Lamb for Clonmore then traded points before Killian Maher extended Tinryland’s lead to two points once again in the 44th minute. Clonmore then edged ahead once again with points from Enda McGrath, Clive Lamb and Dermot Walsh before Tinryland fought back with a pair of points from Sean Kirwan and Conall O’Shea. Further points from Killian Maher and Conall O’Shea kept Tinryland in touch but with 5 minutes remaining Clonmore got the vital score when full forward Clive Lamb scored his team’s third goal and despite a brace of points in the closing stages from Conall O’Se time ran out for Tinryland with the scoreboard reading Clonmore 3-7 Tinryland 2-9 when the referee sounded the full time whistle. The junior B team will be back in action on Wednesday next 8th April with another away game against Old Leighlin at 7 p.m.

Tinryland: Alan Kirwan, Luc Corcoran, Adam Dunne, Niall Fitzpatrick, Seamus Curran, Adam Mullen, Sean Delaney, Sean Kirwan 0-1, Andrew Hanley 0-2, Conall O’ Se 0-3, Barry Power 1-0, Gary Scully, Cathal Whelan, Alan Byrne 1-0, Mick Delaney 0-1. Subs Ross Byrne, Killian Maher 0-2, Niall Scully.

Tinryland man of the match Seamus Curran