Match Reports‎ > ‎

Fenagh too strong for Tinryland in Division 4

posted 14 Apr 2018, 03:55 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Fenagh maintained their unbeaten run in division 4 with a comfortable 10 points to spare over Tinryland’s 3rd squad at Hogan Park on Wednesday last 11th April. It was Tinryland that made the early running on a heavy pitch with Dean Farrell (2) and Mick Delaney edging the blue and white hoops into a 3 point advantage by the 11th minute. Fenagh with a good blend of youth sprinkled with experience were back on level terms by the 20th minute following well taken points from Ed. Brown, Adam Kehoe and early substitute Sean McDermott. The home side continued to press Tinryland and at half time led by 3 points after more well taken scores from Michael Murphy (2), Jack Rowan, and Sean McDermott. Half Time score Fenagh 0-7 Tinryland 0-4

Tinryland’s most prominent player Dean Farrell reduced the margin to 2 points shortly after the re-start but this was as near Tinryland got and Fenagh coasted to the finish with a litany of well taken points from Michael Murphy, Billy Nolan, Sean McDermott, Jason Curran, and Michael Butler. Tinryland had a gilt egged goal chance with 5 minutes remaining but Adam Mullens shot was inches off target. Final score Fenagh 0-15 Tinryland 0-5

Outstanding for Fenagh were Sean Brennan, John Hickey, Michael Murphy, Jack Rowan, Adam Kehoe and Michael Butler.

Tinryland’s most prominent players were Dean Farrell, Gary Scully, Colm Kearney, Gregg Murphy, Mark Walshe and Tommy Dunne.

Tinryland are back in division 4 action on Wednesday next 18th April away to Eire Og in pairc Ui Bhrian at 7 p.m.

A minutes silence in memory of Fenagh president Tom Butler and former Tinryland player Ned Townsend was observed before the throw in following the passing of both men earlier in the week.

Fenagh: Declan Murphy, James Nolan, Sean Brennan, Sean Cummins, John Hickey, Niall Hughes 0-1, Michael Murphy 0-3, Jack Rowan, Jamie McCabe 0-1, John Brennan, Billy Nolan 0-1, Michael Butler 0-2, Ed Brown 0-1, Pat Butler, Adam Kehoe 0-1. Subs: Sean McDermott 0-3, Jason Curran 0-2, Jack Hughes, Brian Murphy.

Tinryland: Lee Buggle,Joey Ryan, Padraig Delaney, Mark Walshe, Gary Scully, Tommy Dunne, Colm Kearney, Alan Kirwan, Adam Mullen, Dean Farrell 0-4, James Murphy, Dinny Farrell, Cathal Whelan, Gregg Murphy, Michael Delaney 0-1. Subs: Joe Byrne, Adam Buggle, Barry Power.