Match Reports‎ > ‎

Ballon win Division 5 league points against Tinryland with impressive first half display

posted 18 May 2016, 14:19 by

By Eamonn Byrne

Ballon guaranteed themselves a place in the division 5 semi-final when they defeated Tinryland’s 3rd squad by 7 points at James Morris Park on Tuesday 17th May. The home team wrapped up the points with an impressive first half display when playing with the breeze. After 12 minutes the scoreboard read 2-4 to nil in Ballons favour with their goals coming in the 2nd and 11th minutes from Rory O’Connor and wing back Michael Barcoe. Tinryland’s opening score in the 13th minute was a Dean Farrell point and the same player who scored 6 points in total got the hoops’ only other 1st half score in the 28th minute with another point. By this stage Ballon had amassed 2-11 with some wonderful scores from the likes of Ross Nolan, Paul Lyons, Liam Brennan, James Doyle and Mikey Barcoe.

Half time score Ballon 2-11 Tinryland 0-2.

It was a transformed Tinryland that lined out for the 2nd half and by the 38th minute the men in blue and white had added a further 2 points to their account via Dean Farrell and Garry Scully. These scores gave the team who had the bare 15 players confidence and between the 35th and 55th minutes Tinryland added 4 unanswered points from Dean Farrell, Cathal Whelan, Farrell again with a wonderful point in the 50th minute and Barry Power. It was all Tinryland at this stage and following good play by Alan “Benson” Byrne and Garry Scully veteran P.J. Murphy scored a goal out of the top drawer that would do justice to any game at a much higher level. Ballon stemmed the flow with their only 2nd half score from play when Paul Lyons pointed in the 29th minute and Dean Farrell capped a good display when he scored his 6th point just before referee Pat Kehoe sounded the long whistle.

This game now brings down the curtain on Tinryland’s division 5 campaign and the team will next be in action in late July or early August against O’Hanrahans in the Junior C championship. Outstanding for Tinryland were goalkeeper Michael Delaney, defenders Joey Ryan, Paddy Byrne and Sean Kirwan while midfielders Conor Ryan and John Jackson linked well with Dean Farrell, Garry Scully and Barry Power in the 2nd half. Final score Ballon 2-13 Tinryland 1-9.

Ballon: Colm Barry, Daniel Lewis, Kevin Doyle, Adrian Barry, Michael Barcoe 1-1, Joseph Holden, Shane Ryan, Ross Nolan 0-1, Karl Nolan, Rory O’Connor 1-0, James Doyle 0-4, Eoin Byrne, Jack Ryan, Liam Brennan 0-4, Paul Lyons 0-3.

Tinryland: Michael Delaney, Alan Byrne, Joey Ryan, Paddy Byrne, Sean Kirwan, John Whyte, Sean Regan, John Jackson, Conor Ryan, Cathal Whelan 0-1, Garry Scully 0-1, Dean Farrell 0-6, Eoin Fields, Barry Power 0-1, P.J.Murphy 1-0.