Club News‎ > ‎

Tinryland draw last two Co. Champions in Carlow S.F.C.

posted 28 Mar 2013, 10:11 by
By Eamonn Byrne

The eagerly awaited Carlow S.F.C. draws were finally made in the Co. Board offices on Wednesday last with Tinryland being drawn in group B alongside 2012 champions Eire OG and 2011 champions Old Leighlin. Other clubs in the 6 team group include O’Hanrahans who knocked out Tinryland at the quarter final stage last year, Naomh Eoin and Mount Leinster Rangers. Tinryland will begin the S.F.C. in mid July when they face up to Old Leighlin in a repeat of the 2011 Co. final.

Tinryland’s neighbours The Fighting Cocks and Palatine have both been drawn in group A together with Kildavin-Clonegal, Kilbride, St. Andrews and Rathvilly.

The football season for senior teams will finally commence on weekend 7th April when the S.F.L. begins after a delay due to the dispute involving The Fighting Cocks which was finally resolved by the D.R.A. recently. Tinryland will play Ballylinan in a S.F. challenge on Good Friday at 8.p.m. in Rathcrogue

The Fighting Cocks will be Tinryland’s opponents at the opening of the new floodlight pitch by G.A.A. president Liam O’Neill on Saturday 4th May . This event will begin the clubs 125th anniversary celebrations which will also include underage matches and musical entertainment.